Skip to content

DIZH professorship in Digital Cultures and Arts

The position should be filled by 1 February 2024. The professorship will be established as a joint assistant professorship between the University of Zurich (UZH) and Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK). After six years and upon a successful evaluation, the professorship is to be made permanent.

The successful candidate’s tasks include research and teaching in the field of digital cultures and arts in media cultural studies and practice. Teaching and research aim to analyze the possibilities and consequences of digital technologies in the production, reception and distribution of artistic, cultural and creative artifacts and processes and to further develop them through own and collective research and practice.

We are looking for a promising academic and/or artistically active candidate, preferably with international experience.

Candidates must hold a PhD degree at the time of application and other excellent academic achievements in the relevant field are required. Teaching may be carried out in English. Non-German speaking candidates are expected to acquire a working knowledge of German within the first three years of their appointment. The University of Zurich is an equal opportunities employer and in particular strives to increase the percentage of women in leading positions. Therefore, qualified female researchers are encouraged to apply.

The professorship serves as a bridge between the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, the Faculty of Theology (both UZH) and the ZHdK as part of the Digitalization Initiative of the Zurich Higher Education Institutions (DIZH). The professorship can thus actively use the cross-disciplinary networks of the DIZH, become part of the competence centre of the Digital Society Initiative (DSI) and be affiliated with the Center for Arts and Cultural Theory (ZKK).

The closing date for applications is 1 March 2023. Details on the application procedure are available on For further information please contact Prof. Dr. Noah Bubenhofer (, President of the Appointment Committee.